Operational Guidelines

Operating Guidelines

1.0 Structure and Administration.

As described in the consortium Charter, BHEC is a joint agreement among the 12 colleges and universities in Central Kentucky, with administrative support to be provided by Bluegrass Tomorrow, in cooperation with other partner organizations including the Bluegrass Area Development District and the Council for Postsecondary Education.  Initially, BHEC will operate as a standing committee of Bluegrass Tomorrow as the consortium is in development.

A Board of Directors will be appointed by respective university presidents.  Each institution will be represented by the president and at least one other appointment.  The presidents will act as the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors.  The purpose of the Board is to ensure that the consortium functions in support of its mission and in the best interests of the partnership and the participating universities.

Other members of faculty and administration from these respective universities will from time to time be appointed to task specific ad-hoc work groups by the Board of Directors to execute specific projects and programs as designated by the board.

The BHEC will seek to establish partners with other organizations to support its mission, and will establish an ancillary membership for those institutions and organizations that do not meet the criteria of membership.

2.0 Directors: Number, Tenure and Qualifications.

The BHEC Board of Directors shall consist of the Presidents of each of the 12 consortium schools, and one other appointment from each institution.  Presidents may appoint a proxy to be the board representative at any meeting. The board shall consist of no more than thirty (30) voting members.  The Board may also appoint directors from supporting ancillary organizations (Defined in 6.0 below) or school districts in the BHEC region.

The directors of the Consortium shall be elected by the Board of Directors annually, each to a term of office of three years, or until his or her successor has been elected by the Board of Directors and accepted office. New terms commence with the fiscal year that begins July 1.  Each director shall be eligible for reappointment.

3.0 Executive Committee.

There shall be an Executive Committee, consisting of the officers (See 4.0 below.) and the Presidents of each of the Consortium member schools. The Executive Committee shall have such authority as is usual and necessary for an Executive Committee to act for the Board of Directors.

 4.0 Officers: Election and Term of Office.

Officers shall consist of two (2) Co-Chairs, a Vice-Chair, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and immediate past chair.  The two (2) Co-Chairs shall be one President from a public member of the consortium and one President from an independent member of the consortium. Co-chairs will rotate every other year, for a total term of two years. Such other officers and assistant officers as may be deemed necessary may be elected or appointed by the Board of Directors. Any two of the offices may be held by the same person, such as Secretary/Treasurer.

The officers of the consortium shall be elected by the Board of Directors annually, new terms to commence corresponding to fiscal year that begins July 1. Vacancies may be filled or new offices created and filled at any meeting of the Board of Directors. Each officer shall hold office until such officer’s successor shall be elected. Any officer shall be eligible for reelection.

5.0 Meetings

Meetings shall be facilitated by Co-Chairs, with administrative support of the Bluegrass Tomorrow President.   Decisions at meetings shall be made by consensus of those in attendance.   If consensus is not reached, Roberts Rules of Order shall take precedence.  The Board of Directors shall meet no less than four times annually.  Officers and Presidents shall agree on meeting frequency of the Executive Committee.

6.0 Stakeholder Advisors, Ancillary Organizations

The Board of Directors may appoint Stakeholder Advisors who may be invited to attend meetings of the Board to bring additional ideas, representation, and special expertise as non-voting participants and who may serve as committee members or in such other capacities as the Board of Directors may determine. The number,term and qualifications for appointment as an advisor shall be established by the Board of Directors.

Ancillary organizations may include Kentucky Department of Education, Council for Postsecondary Education, Kentucky Educational Standards Board, Association of Independent Kentucky Colleges and Universities, Kentucky Association of Career Colleges and Schools, The Prichard Committee, Bluegrass Area Development District, Bluegrass Workforce Investment Board, Commerce Lexington/regional chambers of commerce, and United Way of the Bluegrass.

 7.0 Funding

As described in the consortium Charter, the BHEC will develop and manage its own funding, under the 501(c)(3) designation of Bluegrass Tomorrow, through donations, grants, appropriations, and other funding sources.  Sufficient annual funding to meet the strategic needs of BHEC, as determined by the Board of Directors, is the joint and co-equal responsibility of the charter members and Bluegrass Tomorrow.

The value of donations, gifts (in-kind services, material, or monetary), grants, appropriations, or other financial considerations directed to or by a single college or university for the primary purpose of support for BHEC will be administered and accounted for in accordance with the policies of the institution.


No Registration form is selected.
(Click on the star on form card to select)
Please login to view this page.
Please login to view this page.
Please login to view this page.